Semi-Organized Thoughts on a Cohesive Ecosystem

Geez, the title could be clickbait for a blog post or Youtube video but alas it is not.

It hit me a few days ago what an interesting opportunity Wahoo has with their products and now services, and I had some thoughts about it I wanted to share on here to maybe strike up a discussion and conversation on a cohesive ecosystem as a whole - and not just stuff that would be nice here and there like the Wahoo Cloud syncing that recently occurred.

To start off with I’ll introduce myself since it helps to scope my perspective on things. My name is Josh. By day I’m the project lead of an open source software project in telecommunications, outside of that I’m a somewhat beginner cyclist. I did indoor cycling for over a year, then moved over to outdoor cycling, and now since winter is approaching (or a tropical storm as I type this) it’s time to drift back inside. I’m not someone who likes to follow more rigid plans. I just want to generally get better, which is why I use Xert in continuous improvement. It gives me the data I want, is flexible how I want, and has worked for me in the time I’ve been using it. That’s not to say I don’t like SYSTM though. I plan on using it for strength, and still do some of the videos. Options are good, and not everyone jives with every solution. I’m above recreational but not racing, as I’m sure many of us here are and I think this is where Wahoo can (and does) really shine.

I’m gonna start off with where things are right now.

The Hardware