Compatibility between two bikes and one Kickr

Apologies if this has already been asked here (I did a quick forum search and came up empty):

What do I need to know about direct-drive trainers (say a Kickr Core) and compatibility with multiple bikes? I am looking for new bikes for me and my partner, and I’m still learning about groupsets and gearing.

I have a good idea of what kind of bikes we want to get: entry-level gravel like the Liv Devote for my partner, and a bigger investment gravel like the Trek Checkpoint, Specialized Diverge, or Giant Revolt Adv for myself.

Indoor cycling has been so good for my sanity, especially in these times and in the Midwest winters, and I know I’ll want to upgrade from the Kickr Snap to the Kickr or Kickr Core. I want to be sure that it’s not a pain for my partner and I to swap bikes on the trainer. Maybe it’s silly to decide on what bike to get based on how it will fit on a trainer, but I really value simplicity and I don’t want to have to buy a whole bunch of accessories and make adjustments every time we want to swap bikes.

For example, would I want to look for bikes with the same number of gears in the back, like 10-speed or 11-speed? Or is it important for the component “level” to be the same (e.g. both bikes having Shimano GRX, but one has RX-400 2x10 and the other RX-600 1x11)?

Ideally you want a common cassette, so the same speed (10x, 11x etc) and a compatible manufacturer (which is pretty much everything now), beyond that it doesn’t really matter.

You can find some cassette/speed combinations that can work together but ideally you wouldn’t.
You would really need to be careful maintaining both chains though, because you don’t want to get to a point where one bike’s chain is wearing the cassette in a way that then wears the other bike’s chain and you’re accelerating the wear on everything.