New to training

I am new to cycling and indoor training. My max BPM is 190 and my FTP from Half Monty is 192. I’ve done the G.O.A.T. training session and the Santos Festival of Cycling 4. In both instances, I could not drop down to the suggested cadence and I was consistently below the suggested heart zone. Am I doing something wrong? Am I missing out if I don’t do the suggested cadence? Are the targets set properly? Lots of questions. So confused. Thanks!

Hi @Jeffrey

G.O.A.T is specifically targeted at low cadence intervals and can be tough if you are new to training. This is aimed at increasing muscular endurance and the cadence targets should be followed where possible to obtain the full benefit.

The HR zones are generally set in line with the power levels, but due to a lag between HR and power (i.e it can take a few minutes for your HR to increase when you apply more power and decrease when you drop power), your HR and zones may not always match. Also, lower cadence efforts tend to give a lower HR as they put less strain on your aerobic system.

It may be worth looking at the 6 week Fitness Kickstarter plan which will give you a good introduction into a variety of workouts.

4 Likes

When you say you could not drop down to the suggested cadence, do you mean you didn’t have the strength to turn the pedals? As has been said a lower cadence will mean a lower HR but will tire out your legs more quickly. Often on sessions I do it says I should be in zone 1 when I have crept into zone 2 and more often than not I may still be in Zone 2 when the suggestion is Zone 3. I don’t worry too much about that but concentrate more on the power and cadence targets. Do you have a power meter on your trainer as that will give you an idea if you are hitting the power targets for the sessions and if you are at a higher cadence than suggested you may just need to do some leg strengthening workouts to help you deal with the low cadence work

1 Like