The Chores in a furnace!

Did The Chores at lunch. Felt like I was cleaning the oven while it was switched on!!

But even though I did have a wobble in the last section I was really pleased today. I felt rubbish last week in terms of energy. Just couldn’t get the power out and motivation was low. But today I just felt much stronger and I actually think with lower temps I may have made it all the way through.

Swim in the lake tomorrow followed by a very small bike and run.

5 Likes

I’m only a newbie I think the chores was my first pretty hard sufferfest so I was whooping with joy when I did it. Supposed to do 2 and half hours outdooor zone 2 today but 30 degs? no thanks lol. Will go out early doors tomorrow instead

3 Likes

I can’t believe you did anything in the middle of the day! Are you training for Mt Sufferlandria or something?
I waited as late as I could, and thankfully after 20 minutes the storm hit and temp dropped. Only 10 degrees, but that’s a huge difference. I felt so good after I added in Extra Shot, even if it was at 60%, lol

2 Likes

I just tried three minutes at almost 50W below my best for that time period and died after two it was so hot. That despite 2 fans and no t-shirt, but fans don’t make much difference if they’re blowing hot air at you.
Has anyone tried an ice vest? I’m thinking of those ones they wear on TV for stay warm ups before time trials in hot countries. I’ve tried putting a running vest under the tap but it didn’t last long.

1 Like

I know the feeling my “paincave” is actually exposed to sunlight all day and my usual training time window is between 1200-1400 so last time I did The chores coincidentally, it was at 30C in the room! :hot_face: was indeed super tough. downed 2 full bidons and 1 energy gel!

2 Likes

I love The Chores. Love it. If I could only pick one video to do forever and ever it would be The Chores. It is a masterpiece.