The five Sec Sprint

The sprint is one of my better metrics, but I always feel there is a lot to still come out, that I just cannot find.
I build cadence quickly and spin out, so select a harder gear. , going down the cassette until I find a gear I do not spin out at.
The trouble is by the time I get this gear turning, I am fading before the sprint starts.
How do you folks find the happy medium?

1 Like

I’m only a newbie but also like the sprints. I usually build up the power in the 10 sec warning so I’m ready to go when the gun goes off.

2 Likes

Do you have a smart trainer? If you know which gear you would like to use, have it in ERG mode before the sprint whilst being in your optimum gear for which level you would be using. With 1-2secs before the sprint starts keep spinning at 95rpm or so and then switch to level mode. It takes a second or so for the resistance to kick in, by the time it does, the sprint test will just be starting and you’re already at a better cadence to “get going”.

2 Likes

Don’t forget that the purpose of the test is to determine your “neuromuscular power” - what you can put out as a quick, few seconds, burst - not necessarily your maximum sprint. If you spend too much energy ramping in to it then you might skew the result and you’ll also start to burn through your anaerobic reserves which can have a knock on effect on the 5 minute test. I treat it like the 5 second efforts in Violator (where you absolutely don’t want to be doing more than 5 seconds!) - easy, HARD, easy.

2 Likes

Being a newbie, my apologies if my advice was slightly off kilter. I have “Violater today so will heed your advice James T, thanks.

2 Likes