Getting crushed by workouts after mid plan Half Monty

So, I’ll use this as a bit of a collection of questions and insecurities that I have about training. I started training a bit over 2 Months ago to counteract the effects of covid to my fitness. I (24M) have never done any structured endurance training in my life but I used to go lift twice a week before covid happend.

After a first Half Monty assessment I decided to go with the couch to crusher plan as it seemed like the best choice. Everything went fine and dandy until I did the mid plan Half Monty. Ever since I got my new MAP/FTP targets and slightly increased my AC/NM targets, workouts just smack me around. I had to abort Nine Hammers in the 6th hammer, reduce the intensity of the second set in the Shovel or soft pedal some of the intervals in the Omnium. Yet still in every workout I feel like i’ll fall off the bike right after I’m done. And then, the next workout I feel like I’m going into it with fatigue. Is it supposed to be like this? I feel like I’m not getting enough recovery between sessions and every session seems to focus on short, hard AC/MAP intervals. Recently the weather has been getting better but I feel anxious about riding outdoors at a base intensity because that might screw my recovery even more.

Outside of that I’ll have my first FF in about 2 weeks and I’m already anxious because of it. My current plan is to go with the novice all purpose road plan (Indoor only) as it looks a bit less intense and supplement it with outdoor rides whenever I feel like it (or the weather is good). Is that a good idea?!

Anyway, I really like the training. Some of the workouts have been great and super fun like ‘the Cobbler’. Some of the workouts have been dreadful… but that was to be expected.

1 Like

Welcome to SUF.