How to practice short sprints?

I feel I may doing poorly in my 5s NM full frontal segments due to body mechanics of sprinting - something I have heard requires a lot of practice to become good at (I’m certainly not practicing it often, nor do I have a lot of experience, and I have to say I’m not educated about “good form” for sprinting and what my body should be doing and feeling). I have heard that your whole body is really part of it, and it’s clear I have more to learn - that require both some written/verbal instruction and lots of practice.

How can one practice these sprints in the software (outside of 4DP testing) and get meaningful results/feedback? Going to the catalog, the best options seems to be the NoVid session “Sprints: 10 x 10s”.

Some newbie questions: Will this session report on my 5s power in the same way that 4DP does? Or do I need to do some manual calculating with the data? If I don’t want to spend 1:10 on 10 sprints, but just want to run through 3 or 4, can I end my session early and still get meaningful 5-sec NM results reported?

Any or all feedback on improving my short (and medium) sprint technique and on how to use The Sufferfest to practice this (indoors, admittedly) would be appreciated. I also recognize that outdoor practice is equally important for making this happen IRL, and may feel quite a bit different.

Hey there.
One thing worth considering - you don’t need a workout as such with planned intervals.
If we step away from the concept of following erg and set workouts, to simply Practice sprints …

Just go ahead and start any old workout … even just Open 30 or something. Switch to Level mode.
And then try finding out what level you need to be in, at what gear, to need a big effort to get going that gets you full gas spinning at your max watts in 10s (or whatever timeframe you want)

This is something you only use the app for measuring the numbers for. Don’t look for a particular workout. Make sense?

3 Likes