Motivation issues

Hello dear forum,

I need your advice. I have a motivation problem and I’m out of ideas.

My problem is that I can’t find any challenges that still excite me. When you enter the MTP, the first exercise is to find your Mt. Sufferlandria. I’ve defined a few Mt. Sufferlandrias in the past few years, but none of them have triggered this feeling that I’m a little scared of it or that this goal would actually excite me.
I’ve been cycling for many years, training #IWBMATTKYT for years, and accomplished many things: Everesting? Done in 2012. 24-hour race? Check. Long distance? Several times. Podium? Yes. Marathons? Some. Stage races through the Alps? Done. KoS? Twice.

And no matter what goal I’ve set in recent years, it no longer excites me. At least not in the way that it would have to excite me to be completely consistent with the plan. And even the goal of simply sticking to the plan is regularly thwarted by life, by reality.

Don’t get me wrong: I still love riding my bikes, indoors and out.

So to those of you who have already achieved everything: how do you motivate yourselves?

Greetings, suffer on!
Sir Patrick

2 Likes

You say you have a motivation problem, yet you still love riding your bicycle both indoors and out. What it is that you want to be motivated to do? For what reason do you need a challenge ?

1 Like

Because a purposeful Mt. Sufferlandria makes you train more consistent, makes you do your yoga more often, skip fast food and add the extra nap more often then „just“ riding for fun?
At least that’s the case with me :wink:

1 Like

A couple ideas:

new roads/routes/hills never run/ridden before even if it means a bit of a drive or travel to get there

I read somewhere about a challenge to run/ride every street in your city, wherever that may be.

You mentioned Everesting in 2012. How about a run Everest? A Gravel one? An urban one? Etc