Power measurement discrepancies?

I’m new to the world of indoor training, so maybe it’s just a case of misunderstanding how things work. Hope you can help.

I have a brand new Wahoo Kickr v5 with firmware version 4.2.5. I’ve updated my FTP in Systm (didn’t do the 4DP test yet). When doing a workout I noticed I have to push the pedals significantly harder than expected. I did a quick check with my Quarq AXS power meter on my bike. I don’t have the exact numbers, but it looks like when Systm says I’m pushing 180w, Quarq says I’m pushing over 200w. If anyone can explain to me how to dual record (I use Systm on a Macbook and a Garmin Edge 530 bike computer) I could upload a comparison. Or even a triple record (Kickr on Systm, Kickr on Garmin and Quarq on Garmin).

As I said, maybe the discrepancy can be explained because of misunderstanding or a misconfiguration. My ultimate goal would be to be able to train indoors as close to as how I train outdoors. Not sure how to setup things for that either, but let’s first focus on the wattage differences I see and feel.

Thanks!

Welcome to the club!

First - mandatory - response is to put in a ticket with the Minions? When I first did my setup last year they helped walk me through setup and calibration with the app.

1 Like

Thanks! I was thinking about that, but wasn’t sure where to start; forum or the Minions. I’ll give it a try.

1 Like

I think I read somewhere that power measures depend in part on where power is measured. KICKR measures power at the back (I don’t know if they have strain sensors or calculate it from flywheel acceleration and braking force). The Quarq AXS power meter measures strain the spider—very close to your feet which are applying the power. So it seems plausible that friction and slight elasticity in the drivetrain causes power at the flywheel to be less than power at the spider.

Or—the two meters aren’t calibrated the same.

I’m curious what the minions have to say if you go that route.

1 Like