Whey and Casein Protein (+ Cordyceps)

I’ve searched for protein keyword and found 50+ lines so I thought best to create a new topic for some fresh response.

Question about whey and casein protein consumption (after workout and overnight respectively). Not a dietician but I’m aware of some literature about recommended daily protein intake.

I normally doesn’t miss the strength, yoga and moderate all purpose training plan with one weekend 80-100km outdoor ride (IF 0.9 and TSS >160).

Should I include protein intake (especially overnight) as supplement on top of my regular lunch and dinner (standard chicken or fish home cooked meal). For record I’ve been using Suf/Systm since 2019 but have never added supplementary diet before until recently i was feeling sluggish and slower recovery I got myself the SiS protein. After a week of whey and overnight protein intake as per suggested use, I do feel the difference but I hope it’s not placebo!

Bonus question- how about cordyceps??

Hi there. I can’t see how these things help unless we don’t have enough protein in our diet in the first place. Essentially it’s just more calories from the protein (vs carbs vs fat) part of the food circle. Which if we’re deficient in I guess we could use a supplement for, but there is no real reason I’m aware of that adding it from a tub is more helpful than eating it from our diet.

And my understanding is that eating too close to sleep time delays our body doing whatever it does during sleep, as it is now processing food rather than calming down and recovering.

Basic non medical response though.

2 Likes

There’s a ton of published data out there, but here’s what it boils down to: you’re probably already getting enough protein.