[FEATURE_REQUEST] Nutrition guidelines in workout descriptions

Hello everyone,

As part of my daily routine I use to take a look to next day’s workout (as I guess many of you do as well).

As a total newbie in training and nutrition periodization I’m really struggling to learn as fast as I can, but sometimes information is scattered (not to mention how hard is to find reliable and accurate information in the age of Internet). It certainly can feel overwhelming, right?

And so, I would find really useful to be offered a few guidelines on before, during and after workout nutrients intake (that might be placed at the very bottom of the description or on a different tab, for example), so we Sufferlandrians would schedule better our sessions: knowing when is critical/recommended to eat what before a certain workout, when and what to eat to maximise the recovery or even when a power gel must be on hand during the session.

For example (I’m totally making this up):

Nutrition:
Before: 5-8 grams carbohydrates per rider’s kg at least 2 h before this workout
During: 50 g carbohydrates
After: Within the first hour: Proteins: 15-25g if animal based, 30-40g if plant based. If the next session is >1hr and intense: Around 100g carbs within 2 hours

Also, this guidelines could have into account whether the next intense session takes place within the next 24 h or not. Or the current weight of the athlete, for that matter.

In short, I guess I’m talking about integrating nutrition periodization into the existing training plans (to the extent this is possible, of course. I’m fully aware of the Principle of Individuality)

What do you guys think? Do I make any sense?

Sorry if this has been discussed before and greetings from Madrid to all this great community from which I’m learning a lot!
David.

2 Likes

I think you may be able to find some good guidelines by downloading the PDF from this link

2 Likes