Average power over intervals

I’m new to indoor cycling, and I am trying to adjust to power and cadence targets in level mode. I’m having a hard time evaluating (while riding) how I’m doing at hitting power targets in the intervals in, for example, Violator. My unsmoothed power fluctuates, and the available 3 second smoothing option in on-screen reporting is not terribly helpful for short intervals.

It seems like the SYSTM app could easily report average power at the end of each sprint interval, and that would make it easier to learn how to pace myself. I currently make sure my instantaneous power is above the requested power is for almost the entire interval, and try to roughly compensate for underpowered moments, but my IFs end up being quite a bit higher than advertised for the workouts.

For Violator I wouldn’t worry about it in the slightest, just hit each and every sprint as hard as you can :nauseated_face:

Riding level mode does take a bit of practice, your power will fluctuate, as it would on the road. You could use a bike computer with a lap function and display average lap watts. With some practice you’ll get better at keeping around the desired power without needing it. Don’t worry too much about cadence, just get it in the right region, it’s a lot to try and balance resistance, power and cadence in level mode. If a workout really needs a specific cadence you’d be better in level mode (GOAT, Power Station).

IF is based on your FTP. The SYSTM work outs are based on your 4DP, so you can easily end up with numbers that don’t match. Don’t worry about it, but this article should help explain it better.

1 Like

If you export your workout in to Strava then the intervals show up there as, umm, intervals, and you can see your average power by interval. It’s post factum but might do what you want.