cTHR and zones

Hello I am new to training and want to use heart rate for some type of structure during outdoor rides. I don’t have a power meter for outdoors yet and I ride MTB so I think heart rate zones will give me some type of structure. I am new to structured training and I would previously just ride as hard as I could the whole ride.

I did the full frontal test using wahoo kicker and heart rate monitor and got a 167 cthr score.
A few weeks later I did an XC race outdoors using the same wahoo heart rate monitor and element roam and had an average heart rate of 184 (max 193) for 31 minutes. I’m competitive so in a race situation I know I gave it my all. On the trainer I tried to give it my all.

Setting cTHR at 167 vs 184 creates very different zones.

Anyone have any insight to this?

Thanks
Dave

1 Like

Welcome to the forums @Dave399 ! You’ll likely hear a lot how indoor training and outdoor training differ but, here’s a couple of thoughts. It is my understanding that cTHR of 167 as calculated during FF implies that would be your threshold HR for an hour. Do you think you could have maintained the 184 HR you got during your XC race for a full hour? I’m guessing not.

So, my 2 cents as a rank amateur, not a coach, not a sports scientist …is go ahead and use the 184 outdoor average as your threshold rate for training outdoors and if you find yourself struggling at those training zones, knock it down a notch or two. HR is a trailing metric and not ideal for training when power is available as power measurements are instant. In your case though, without a power meter, HR and your perceived level of exertion will be your best training tools.

There’s some GREAT info on using RPE and a recent The Knowledge Podcast on it here:

2 Likes