Is my 4DP recommendation quite right?

I’ve been using The Sufferfest for about 3 months now. I did my one and only 4DP near the start. It classified me as a Sprinter which was a complete shock, as I’ve never even done any sprinting. Anyway it said I needed to work on my MAP, and recommended things like ‘A very dark place’ and ‘nine hammers’. Whilst ‘nine hammers’ was hard, I didn’t feel any of the others were really that hard. In fact I had to lift the difficulty on some of them by a few percent to suffer properly. ‘the downward spiral’ and ‘blender’ being notable exceptions.

However I thought I should try something completely different and had a crack at ‘Thin Air’ yesterday. I was so cocky that I did it directly after a previous 30 min workout and even took it out of ERG mode for the first 15 mins to ride at threshold before the mountain stage. Boy was that a mistake. I blew up three times in the mountain section. It was way harder than I expected.

I tried it again today - just the ride as programmed - no deviation from the plan - I did it this time, but it wasn’t easy. It’s a hard one.

Why, when 4DP says I should focus on MAP, do the MAP focussed rides seem easier that the pure climbing FTP workouts like Thin Air? Should I be ignoring the 4DP recommendations as mix it up a bit more?

Hi there.

One key thing here is this is the selection process for rider type is simply based on the results of your test. So if your NM result is proportionately higher compared to the 20min section (than MAP or AC) you’ll get the Sprinter tag. It’s really as simple as that.
In my view rarely means you’re a sprinter :slight_smile:
When I get that tag it usually means I smashed the sprint but the rest of the test hasn’t gone so well (especially MAP) for any number of reasons. Sometimes I’m not as rested as I want to be, sometimes I just haven’t managed to really smash the 5min test.
When I do hit the 5min section to my limit, my rider type then is more ‘relevant’