Newbie Expectations In ERG mode

I’m brand new to using a smart trainer…I got tired of our old electronic exercise bike and decided to upgrade (I’m using a Direto XR in case that impacts the answer). I’m loving The Sufferfest App and my first couple of workouts. However, the experience is not matching my expectations, and so I’m hoping to get feedback from folks that are not new to using smart trainers to see if what I experience is the way it’s supposed to be or not. :slight_smile:

What I’m experiencing is when I’m doing a video (e.g., Joyride) and it transitions from like a 90 RPM / 60 Watt section to a 90 RPM / 150 Watt section, I’m having to downshift to get the flywheel spinning fast enough to get up to 150 Watts. My expectations based on what I understand ERG mode to be (and I did verify that the trainer is in ERG mode in the settings on the app) are that the resistance on the trainer would increase so that as long as I maintained the 90 RPM, I would hit 150 Watts, so I wouldn’t have to shift that often.

Since I’m new to this smart trainer thing I’m wondering if I’ve got the trainer set up correctly; if there are communication problems with my PC and the trainer so the trainer isn’t getting the “increase the resistance” messages; or if my expectations are wrong and I’m really supposed to be shifting gears all over the place to try to match the power and cadence prompts on the screen. Is there a test/video/something where I can make sure that the app is correctly controlling the trainer? Or is this the way it’s supposed to work?

Thanks in advance for any advice, help, etc.!

Apparently, you’re not alone: http://forum.elite-it.com/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=2530

I have not read the whole post, but maybe you can find something usefull.

1 Like

How are you connecting? ANT+ or Bluetooth? What does the connection screen look like? Could you post a photo?