On my way back

This past summer found myself a 6’3" 52 year old asthmatic, type 2 diabetic, and had gotten up to 315 lbs. 15 years ago I did 3 bike tours across the US (Atlantic to Pacific) so I’ve ridden quite a bit, but not much in years. Started riding again in August and have put in about 1,500 miles and gotten down to 270 lbs so far.

Just got a smart trainer, started with Systm a few weeks ago and did the Half Monty this morning.
FTP 254
NM 924
AC 445
MAP 306

I’m new to these numbers, so how are they for my age/condition? Should I do the week of prep and the Full Frontal to get a better idea of where I’m at to watch my improvement? Any other suggestions on what I should work on next?

Goal is to get down to 200 lbs and on a vaction in the south east US next summer climb Clingman’s Dome and Mt. Mitchell. No time or race goals, just want to feel good again and enjoy riding in the mountains!

Thanks!

6 Likes

Welcome to the forums @PepperTransAm ! Now that you’re here, you can never leave :wink: Well, technically that’s only true in Sufferlandria but whatevs.

As for your questions, first, your numbers are unique to you so how are they for your age and condition is not really for anyone else to say (except maybe a personal coach or medical pro).

If you’ve never done Full Frontal I would highly recommend it and def the prep week leading up to it to get the best results. Some riders and rider types find a very large discrepancy in results between the Half Monty and Full Frontal with FF being much more accurate. I am in the lucky group where HM is predictive of my FTP and MAP within a handful of watts so am much less inclined (after 6+ years of being with SUF/SYSTM) to do FF.

There is a TON to explore in SYSTM with so much content you’re sure to find something you’d like to do. If your goal is as far away as next summer you could look to start a hilly fondo plan that ends closer to your vacay plan dates.