Slow progress with training plans after a year - what next?

Hi all,

I could use a bit of advice on training progress - mildly complicated by the fact that I was completely unable to train in July/early August after getting very sick with what was probably COVID. I wasn’t hospitalized or anything, but just absolutely crushing fatigue and lightheadedness when doing basic household chores, so no training during that period. It’s also worth saying I’m also relatively new to cycling - having only started in August 2019 (without any real ‘training’ pre-Fall of last year).

Here’s a table of my various test results:

For additional reference here’s what Strava tells me:

The original Jan 4DP was on a dumb trainer, and the March test got scrapped half way through, so take from that what you will. After that I did the Intermediate Plan, and I think doing the May Half Monty maybe artificially jacked up my numbers, as my legs were totally dead for the June 4DP.

Anyway… Here I am halfway through the Fitness Kickstarter (thought it prudent to start there rather than jumping into a tougher plan). The plan goes through January 3, so I’m guessing the approach is just ‘continue to suffer and trust the plan’. I just feel a little disheartened as I have only really seen consistent progress in LTHR and not much else…

I get the feeling FTP will always be my worst metric (2/3 of my 4DPs have been Pursuiter, the other Attacker) so wondering if I should go to an FTP-specific plan next, or go back to the Intermediate Plan.

Any thoughts/advice?

Hi @Rearviewmirror,
2020 is not a “normal” year.
Everybody failed in constancy because of stress, illness or mental issues.
After a 5 month break, I decided to go back on track with the Transition Ramp Up Training Plan … and I feel confident with FF next week.
So reset 2020 and set a goal for 2021… Try the Mental Training Program, il will helps.
Keep on sharing on this forum.
Cheers

1 Like

Hey.