Struggling to choose a first time training plan

Hi. I’m relatively new to Sufferfest, having joined in July 2021. I did FF at the outset and was given a rider typw of Attacker, and my weakness was Sustained Efforts. I followed this up with the 4 week FTP building block which ends this week. I am absolutely loving SUF so far.

I am planning to do the FF plan next week before starting a new plan.

I am really struggling to choose a suitable plan.

My main goal is to keep up with the local group rides on Sundays - a hilly 60-70 mile ride at around a 19mph average. I currently ride that distance at around 18 mph.

My current FTP is 2.9W/kg. I work Mon-Fri and can train between 5-7 hours a week. I want the option of being able to ride outdoors at the weekends and to incorporate strength training and yoga (two parts of SUF that I have realy found beneficial).

I am struggling to choose the right plan at the right level. All Purpose Road (intermediate) and Time Trial (novice) both seem to be good options.

Any help/suggestions would be much appreciated.

To me it sounds like you are describing the all purpose road-plan (indoor & outdoor) with yoga, and an applicable strength training plan in addition. The TT plan will most likely work too, but unless you target TTs I would go with all purpose.

Happy suffering!

2 Likes

Hey @djones632 ,
You might look at the Novice Metric Century plan with strength and add yoga. Just replace the event with FF at the end of the plan. You are on the right track by looking at plans that fit your training availability. That’s the key. If our stock plans don’t meet your needs, consider a customized plan from one of our coaches or a chat with a coach to dial in a plan focusing on your individual needs. We’ve had a lot of success stories from our members who go that route. Let us know how it goes.

Cheers,
Spencer