New to Sufferfest, plan confusion

Hello everyone - apologies for the long post.

I’m new to The Sufferfest but not structured training - I’d like a bit of input to validate my thoughts so far.

First, a bit of background. I’m 48, male, in the UK. From Nov 2018 to May 2019 I did a whole bunch of trainerroad plans, following their base/build/specialty progression - then has an “uncontrolled dismount” on a sportive at the beginning of June when I broke a toe. At this point my (trainerroad) FTP was about 290W.

I rode the Etape du Tour in July last year (my ‘A’ event) but a combination of a late start time, excessive heat and the not-quite-healed toe forced me to abandon at Moutiers as I had missed the cutoff to start the final climb.

Since then I’ve been completely demotivated, hardly ridden a bike (let alone done any training) and gained loads of weight.

I did a ride a couple of weeks ago with a friend and his clubmates and managed just over 100km - I noticed a couple of things on that ride:

1. I have lost a ton of power
  2. I am mentally weak at the moment

Strangely, I have found that ride to be quite motivating in terms of restarting training.

I have a goal event of next year’s Etape du Tour (possibly on the Nice-Nice route which didn’t run this year). I’m happy to give The Sufferfest a good crack of the whip, because I believe that the integration of yoga, mental training and strength training with the turbo sessions will be very beneficial to my all-round cycling.

I did Half Monty a couple of days ago which gave me an FTP of 191 (ie about 100 W down from my peak last year) and MAP 241. I am essentially “untrained” at this point I think.