Training with spondylolisthesis

I’ve been diagnosed with spondylolisthesis, anyone else out there with this injury?

Doctors advice is to stop all exercises extending my spine backwards (no planks, bridges and most of yoga) and to focus on exercises with forward flexion of the spine. Luckily this means I have doctors orders for more cycling :slight_smile:

Currently supporting the cycling with lots of core work. What works for you in terms of general strengthening?

I’ve been living and training with a spondy for a couple of decades now…you don’t say where your spondy is - and I’m no medical professional…so just my 0.02.

My spondy is a level 2, l4-l5 vertebrae. Made its presence felt with an acute episode that lasted … months. Since then, steadily found what works for me. As far as treatment when it’s bad - which is these days, mercifully rare - maybe every 18 months - I stick to osteopathy. I would run a mile rather than let a chiropodist near me ever again.

I surf as well as bike, which obviously involves prolonged periods hyperextended while I’m paddling. As you said, lots of core work…but also lots of yoga…I don’t shy away from any particular type of exercises…lots of work on psoas (lunges, tiger pose, foam and ball rolling, etc,)- these tightening up can trigger a spasm, so a particular area of focus. I’m confused about the statement regarding planks, as as far as I’m concerned this is particularly posture / spine neutral…but…

Also - not to go against what your doc says, but…one of the biggest improvements I’ve seen in my resilience has come about through dedicating time and energy to strengthening my glutes. Bridges…yep. Kettelbell swings - took time to build to the point I was confident doing that. Also, natural / primal movement great for building usable, funtional strength and mobility. Youtube channel movement parallels life has some good intro workouts…