Best Sessions to pair with leg strength work

I’ve been using the sufferfest for about 4 weeks now and coming to the end of the tempo block.

I’m thinking about what to do next as I wait for the local velodrome to open up (probably 12 weeks)

I’m fairly new to cycling and will be completely new to track riding, however I have a long history of strength training and most recently Olympic lifting, although I haven’t done much since Covid reared it’s ugly head.

I’ve been looking through the plans and although all purpose road accommodates strength sessions which I could use to add in my own weights sessions, I’m not sure I can commit to the number of sessions in that plan with work and family life.

I was considering pulling together a loose fun plan where I pick a session each from my strength NM/AC and weakness (MAP) once a week to go alongside what ever sessions I find to go with two lower body weight sessions giving 4 training days a week.

So that leads me to my question, what workouts pair best with lower body strength sessions. I see cadence builds are put with a strength session in all purpose road but any other thoughts?

For now, lower body weight sessions will start light and build to heavier split squats, step ups, single leg deadlifts etc. I enjoy weighted leg exercises so wanting to do them comes from enjoyment more than anything else.

Any thoughts?

1 Like

Any of the cadence builds or recovery/inspiration workouts should do. If you are following a plan with strength you’ll typically see yoga (activation or core or balance/agility) followed by strength followed by cadence builds or recovery spin.

You can explore this thread, it contains some options.

From the Coaches: Adaptations to Strength Training - #38 by Juanale81

Thank you, I’ll have a read.

Hey … a classic pairing is Power Station after your strength work. It takes those tired legs and makes them work harder again at muscle sapping low cadence intervals.