Building Blocks or start a specific GranFondo Plan?

Hey guys,

i’m new to systm and love the app. I started cycling two years ago without any specific training. Just rode my bike (-7000km a year).

I’m registered for the ThreePeaksBike Race in July, an ultracycling race through the alps. Its about 2200km with 35.000hm and i’d like to finish it in 6-7 days.

I did the 4DP Full Frontal a few days ago and it was really hard for me to get the right pacing, but the app did a good job to keep me alive :slight_smile:
NM: 1250w
AC: 504w
MAP: 360w
FTP: 276w

But what next?
I’m thinking about starting the GranFondo Mountain Plan. I also consider to start with a ftp building block first and do the GranfondoPlan afterwards. Would be nice to push the FTP near to 300. Should help to get my average watt higher in longer rides right?

I do a lot of strength/core Training to get prepared for the long rides (3 times a week with a coach).

So which type of training would you prefer? Building blocks first and then get more specific with the MountainPlan?
When would you start with tapering?

A lot of questions to start in the systm, so i am very happy for any help :slight_smile:

Cheers
Jan

@greno Welcome to the forum. Those numbers look good! I would suggest just starting the GF plan as you will probably get to your FTP goals that way as well - especially with some additional strength and the volume on the GF plan. When you select the plan, add strength even if you are doing sessions separately with a coach since the plan will be adapted for the additional work and you won’t have too much volume on your strength days so you can recover properly.

The blocks are good and they have worked for me. However, they are more intense and don’t allow for any adjustment for strength so they probably aren’t as good a fit for you at this time.

Hope that helps!

1 Like

Aprreciate your help, thanks!