Detrained? Dodgy bike?

Hello. Quick question - I’m no bike mechanic but want to know if there’s something up with the bike.

Testing hasn’t been frequent of late but I did a solid half monty in mid dec. A few ups and downs in training in Q1 but I hit April at a level where every workout I ran at +5%. I did 9H at +5%, an hour’s run the next day and AVDP @ +5% the day after. Feeling good and even my notes say “retest time”.

I was away for a week in late April. I managed no cycling but some surfing (upper body wasn’t happy) a couple of easy runs (weather was hot, I struggled). Whilst I was away I left the bike in the shop for a full service - it’s been on the trainer for 6 months, I felt it needed a bit of TLC.

My first ride back felt awful. Sluggish, like I could barely move the pedals. I was exhausted from travelling so put it down to that. I gave up after 10mins of z2.

Since then I managed a Holy Week/van Aert back to back (it felt ok, but at target power and they’re not tough) And TBTIWT but at +0%. It was pretty hard.

Half Monty today. I was feeling good. FTP -7% and MAP -3% to the December numbers!

I also note that having not dropped a chain in about the last 12 months I dropped it 8 times during the Holy Week.

Have the ****ed up my bike? I don’t care if my numbers have gone down, but I’m a little perplexed giving I was absolutely smashing them a couple of weeks ago. I wouldn’t have expected fitness to drop like that. Life stresses,travel, etc etc are also to beb remembered of course, but I felt good today and HRV/RHR have been steady.

Do I just go back and ask them to check ti out? It doesn’t sound odd, but it feels it.

TLDR: I want to make sure they’re nothing wrong with the bike. It is the bike or me?

Cheers!

Well, the dropped chain is likely related to the shop service… everything else it’s too hard to know what’s going on. Have you ridden it outside to see if it feels off (if you ride outdoors :rofl:)