Heart rate, wattage, cadence?

I’m new to this and not sure i understand what the measurement parameters. In the workouts i’m NEVER in the recommended heart rate zone. always way above, but at as a 55 year old man, my max heart rate should be about 165, and i can stay at 90- 95% during a workout, sometimes even 105%. but never in zone 1 or 2.

and when it comes to the wattage, if i’m going at the cadence recommended, there is little resistance on the trainer if i try to match the power meter number. and when it tells me to hit 130 on he cadence with a power of 90, i’d have to be in 1st gear on my bike. i can not spin that fast with no resistance and stay on the bike.

any tips on this? I’m using an old BKool classic with a wahoo cadence meter and wahoo tikr HRM if that makes a difference

1 Like

I suppose it depends on what workout you’ve selected. But a power of 90 and cadence of 130 seems unrealistic, unless the workout is trying to simulate riding downhill in a low gear.

I’m 57. My zone 2 (endurance) HR is 130bpm. But I happily cruse for 3+ hrs on the road at 145bpm. I max out at 175 attacking hills outside but I’ve never got over 165bpm on the trainer using The Sufferfest. Probably because I overheat.

If you think your HR is climbing up too quickly, you may want to try regularly doing some long slow (and boring) Zone 2 rides. (Read up on the Maffetone method). These type of rides build your aerobic base and eventually get you putting our more power at a lower HR, but it takes time.

2 Likes

In my experience, the only metric that REALLY matters is RPE (percieved effort). When training with power, I focus on watts, don’t sweat the cadence targets, and ignore the heart rate data.

For me heart rate is too variable on a day to day basis to be of much use. If I’m a little tired that day, or fully recovered from a rest week, or dehydrated, or it’s hot out, or work is stressful, or a million other things… you get it… my HR can be drastically different.

6 Likes