HELP! 4DP for Bradycardia

PLEASE HELP, ideally someone with experience with Bradycardia

Hi everybody. I´m new to sufferfest, and relatively new to endurance training. 31 yo, male, untrained, BMI 27, VO2MAX 29 (according to the cardiac stress test on a treadmill I took a couple years ago), lost like 8kg in the last 2 years, been on maintenance 8 months now.

The thing is, I know for family history that we have really low resting HR, like proathlete resting HR of 40-45, and have a max HR of 171 aprox (same stress test couple years ago). Heard that’s called Bradycardia.

I am cleared for training, but I feel like this is messing up my 4DP. Like for example, this week I´m doing the full frontal plan, and yesterday did the Taper Efforts workout, and I wanted to die, in the first of the 3 efforts my HR reached 183, which had never happend before in the 3 years I’ve been training with a pulsometer, half marathon included.

I did the Half Monty when I started training, so i have a previous result for my 4DP and LHRT.

So… I’m a crybaby who had never suffered before??? Or is my weird HR messing up my 4DP!!!

Hi,

First off, welcome to the suffer party!

I don’t know Bradycardia so I’m definitely not qualified to throw any advice your way.

I have a similar HR range so thought I’d throw in my opinion, take it with a pinch of salt.

Lots of other factors can affect your HR also, e.g. I was doing a workout last night and while power was in Zone 2 my HR was up in Z3/4 because of the heat, so keep things like heat, sleep and stress in mind when doing a workout.

I’ve done Half Monty before and found the figures that gives me were higher than what a 4DP returned for me a few weeks later. So I’d err on the side of caution and perhaps reduce those targets by a couple of percentage points to make sure it’s achievable until you do the 4DP test itself.

And dont worry, at one point or another we’re all cry babys here, but in a good way!

Best of luck,
Kevin

2 Likes