Newbie Numbers Query

Hello,

Newbie here and I would like some advice.

I did a 4DP test at the start and for the following numbers:
FTP: 143, MAP: 176, AC 255, NM 552.My LTHR is 158 BPM.

I started another training plan last week and today I did “A Very Dark Place”. I stopped 2/3 of the way through because I didn’t feel the workout was right. My Average watts was at 70, my heart rate average was 116. It just felt to easy? The “rest” sections of the video had a higher watt target than the intervals (although slight lower cadence). Other workouts in the training plan are also easy, so my gut is telling me it’s just the 4DP numbers. (Another example, I did GOAT the other day and average watt of 108, HR of 115).

When I did my 4DP, I found it very dificult - I’m not sure I’d be able to get that much more out of it. Have I got something wrong?

I use ERG mode for everything so I don’t have to change resistance of gears. Could that be my issue?

I’m planning on doing a half monty tomorrow to see how my results compare, but any tips in advance would be welcome.

Many thanks,

Felix

2 Likes

Hi, Felix.

Welcome to Sufferlandria!

It sounds like you had a workout with reduced targets. When you look at your calendar in the App, does it show reduced percentages for the different metrics? Considering your comment on the recovery segments being harder, it sounds like that was the case.

If some of the other workouts this week include a recovery spin or cadence builds, that’s another indicator of this being a recovery week.

I hope that helps.

3 Likes

Hi Renzo,

Thanks so much for the quick reply.

When I open the calendar and select the workout, it says the 4DP used are the same I listed above, i.e. NM: 552, AC:255, MAP: 176 AND FTP: 143.