How important is for me to hit cadence targets in SYSTM?

Hi everyone! I am new to proper cycle training. I’m on a kickr smart bike and i’m getting into SYSTM. I started the 14 day introductory plan and I did my half Monty test and have done 3 training videos, but although I can hit the power targets, my heart rate is in the low range of what is expected on the display, and I have difficulty meeting the cadence target… I can’t keep up 90-95 in what I suppose is my aerobic zone… I got FTP 163, MAP 197 and the test estimated NM 532 and AC 267. My cTHR was 145. The thing is, today I did the kayabike video workout, I could meet the wattage with a cadence of 70-75, but the target was often 90-95 which I found hard to sustain for any length of time. It seemed to me that this workout was designed as an aerobic endurance workout, but I was working a little hard all the time, it felt more like a tempo workout and I couldn’t hit the cadence with any ease. Is it worth tweaking the numbers that the half Monty gave me? Or should I ignore the cadence targets? Thanking you in advance for any insight!

Hi and welcome @Lijou i also struggle to hit cadence targets most of the time and although ERG workouts shouldn’t make any difference I now try to do a lot of workouts in the small chainring rather than the big ring, this makes it a bit easier to hit those cadence targets while hitting power targets as well but there are quite a few Threshold workouts where I’m at least 10 to 15 rpms down on the target cadence. I don’t worry too much about it as for me hitting Power Targts is more important unless your doing specific cadence workouts like Elements Of Style. Hope this helps and I’m sure you’ll get other responses which will help more than mine.

1 Like

Tack this to your wall. An updated version is supposedly inbound. In general, your focus should be power targets, though occasionally you’ll focus on cadence (usually cadence drills).

And welcome!

6 Likes