How to avoid rear derailleur adjustment on KICKR?

Whenever I swap from wheel to KICKR, I have to suffer through rear derailleur adjustment.

How to avoid? Is it as simple as having matching rear cassettes?

I’ve got the stock KICKR cassette (11 speed, 11-28) and on the Roubaix wheel, a Shimano 105 11 speed 11-34. Would getting another Shimano 11-34 for the KICKR help fix this?

1 Like

Probably not but having a 34 on the Kickr might allow you to enjoy some things outside of SYSTM that would be a LOT harder without it.

I’m not a mechanic but there’s usually a couple of mm of difference from one wheel set to another so it makes sense to me that you’d need to make minor adjustments to dial things in. Granted, it’s a bit of a pain. My personal solution was to get a dedicated trainer bike (I got a GREAT deal from my LBS) which also means that the drive train will wear evenly.

1 Like

I’ll make that a “certainly not”. And add “bummer.” My KICKR and wheel both have Shimano 105 10 speed 11/28s. I still need to do about a 3/4 turn adjustment when I switch back and forth. Not a big deal for me because of the n+1 bike thing, but sometimes I need to switch bikes around.

I’ve got identical cassettes on my trainer (not a Wahoo) and Mt bike wheel and have never had an indexing issue. Some trainers require an extra space on the hub to get the alignment t :ok_hand:

I use a spacer, but still need a slight adjustment. Without the spacer, no amount of adjustment would help. But with the spacer, there are still small alignment issues. Could be that my wheel was built a teeny bit off of center.

I have an extra 0.5mm spacer on the other trainer for the other bike. Worth trying and see if that makes a difference

2 Likes

When I had a 28-11 on my tire and a 25-11 on my Kickr Core there were always some weird shifting inconsistencies and jumps. When I switched my trainer to a 30-12 with a new chain and a new big ring those seemed to go away.