How to get back to training and not be overwhelmed?

I have been with SUF for over 2 years now. I have made a lot of gains and met a lot of goals. I did my first century back in 2019. I also met my goal of doing an Olympic Distance tri in under 3 hours in the same year. I have no endurance sport background. I was however a college baseball player.

I had an accident in my last triathlon about a month ago. It probably was my best race to date. I was closing in to the front pack on the bike section (SUF gains!) which is when I crashed and tore my AC joint in my shoulder. In the scheme of things, I was pretty unharmed considering I was going down a hill at well over 20mph(32 kph). Now I will need surgery and a long recovery process.

In the past few weeks I have noticed that despite not training I am in a better mood to which my wife agrees. I look back and think wow training was stressing me out. Now that I have more time I am able to see how I want to change things going forward. Just wondering if any of you have experienced the same issues.

Before I started cycling and triathlon all did was lift weights, kettlebells, and run on occasion. My first year of triathlon was more my wife and I going on adventures to random places and ride bikes and swim. The outcome didn’t matter.

I feel as if the last couple of years all of the sudden it became a chore and not something fun. It is also part of my personality. Now, I am not sure if I am more afraid of crashing again or becoming so obsessed with training that I forget to enjoy myself.

How can I get back to training and it not be overbearing and also how to overcome my fear of crashing again?

Also, I am not hating on SUF. I love the app and the community around it!

1 Like