Limited Training Time

Hello everyone out there in Sufferlandria! I am trying to build my next little bit of training plan and have hit a bit of a road block: I can only ride Friday-Monday right now, which really limits down the high intensity blocks since recovery is such a big thing to perform at your best. I’m a teacher and I don’t have much time on Tuesday-Thursday due to meetings, extra lessons, second job, etc so I am trying to keep those days as light as possible in regards to time. I might be able to squeeze 30 minutes in on those days. I have Saturdays and Sundays completely off this year (as of right now) so I could do longer rides/double rides/etc on those days.

So I guess my big questions: What would you do if you were in my shoes? Is a 3/4 day block of training back to back ok? If you did this how would you schedule your rides? Start with NM/AC and then move towards MAP/FTP Endurance? Rest days? Cross training could be added as well to help offset the time constraints I guess? I can use all the help I can get.

P.S. I know talking to a coach or having a custom plan would be the best thing to do, and I would love to do that, but being a teacher and the sole provider for my family means that the funds are not there to do this at this time.

Thanks for the help and suffer on!

1 Like

So many variables here. If it were me, I would do intervals Friday, a long ride on Saturday, easy spin or off on Sunday and intervals again on Monday.

The Friday interval session would be harder than Monday. What exactly they are would depend on what part of the season I’m in.

Edit: Forgot to add that I would strength train on Saturday and Tuesday.

The beauty of interval training is you don’t really need a lot of time to get great results - but, be clear on what you goal is.

I’d hesitate to recommend doing an “X” kind of workout on one day, and a “Y” on another. It’lll get repetitive and predictable and you’ll probably lose enthusiasm. Variety is the spice of life!