Noob question: The 'real' mountain experience?

Hi all - and thanks for reading my question here… I’m relatively new to the Home Trainer experience. I got myself a Tacx Flux 2 and changed to Wahoo Systm after a few months on another home trainer software.
On the other software, I could do simulated ‘real world’ mountains - the simulated percentages as I rode up a mountain.

For some reason I can’t figure out how to do that in Systm?
If I use ERG I ride way farther than the course is (sometimes double the distance on the summary) and never have the same level of resistance that I should have from the steepest parts of the climb.
If I use Level it seems I need to manipulate it several times during the ride, to make it feel about right.

Am I doing it all wrong? If so how? Or is it just not possible to have the Systm software tell the Home trainer which percentages to simulate? :thinking:

Thanks for any and all help :star_struck:

I

Hi @CarstenCD and welcome.

SYSTM is a little different to the likes of Zwift, RGT and other trainer software.

Other software like Zwift simulates the gradient in the terrain you are riding…so when the terrain gets steeper, the trainer resistance goes up to simulate the gradient. This is what Zwifters call “Level Mode” but is probably better described as “Slope Mode” because it simulates slopes. SYSTM does not really do this on terms of trainer resistance.

In other software and SYSTM, you can run the software in Erg Mode to do intervals training. The trainer resistance changes to force you to hold a pre defined power target (based on your own 4DP power profile). This ignore the terrain you see in the video, tho to be fair, the SYSTM videos, particularly the Sufferfest videos do tend to match the video to show climbing with the hard intervals.