Strength for Climbing

I am planning the Stelvio/Umbral Pass/Stelvio this fall. When I did the Telegraph/Galibier 10 years ago I found doing repeats of low rpm(60 or so) sets and slowing increasing the time(from 5 minutes up to 20 minutes) followed directly by several sets of moderate weight squats and calf raises really helped. I did not have power to train with at the time and just used perceived effort(about 6)for the intervals.

Is that a reasonable way to add climbing strength or should I be working off of a % of FTP. I am new to training with power, so any help would be appreciated.

3 Likes

I’d suggest taking a peek at the training plans in the app, you can add yoga, strength, and mental training to most plans. If the plans don’t have enough of the low cadence stuff you can always supplement with climbing oriented vids from the library. Classic SUF vids that meet that requirement are Power Station and GOAT but with the library expanded there are others too.

Fwiw, your plan would likely work just fine but might not be quite as engaging as using the plans from the app. What distance is your fall event, how many metres of climbing in that. I know the Stelvio (I’ve done it virtually, and it’s ummm, fun :wink: ) but the way you’ve written it, it looks like you might be doing it twice.

Edit: oh, and welcome to the forums @ChipC Don’t be surprised if a coach weighs in here, pardon the pun.

1 Like

My calves are screaming just thinking about this. :wink:

4 Likes

Thanks for the quick replies guys. Yeah it is the Stelvio from 2 sides with a descent into Switzerland. 107k with 3600m of vertical so yeah it is a beast of a day. Probably 7+ hours for me-which is why I really need to build some strength. I had not seen either of those videos Glen so thanks.

CPT
I’ve got some work to do from your photo :joy:
And I LOVE your photo. One of my favorite moments in cycling history. So many emotions in that face!

1 Like