Targetting LTHR - What training

Normally I target MAP as that is my weakness but I have a slighly complicated health situation where I have Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension.

(I have been totally been given the OK from doctor to ride. So all good there.)

I’d like to work raising LHTR. Is that best done a with a Tempo or a Threshold building block?

Thanks

Just curious: Why? Does that goal connect to your PAH somehow?

From my research (I’m not an expert), LTHR as a percent of max heart rate varies widely from person to person–even among people with similar fitness levels and abilities. So while I think LTHR often goes up as a percent of max HR as you get fitter, I’m not sure it always does. Also, max heart rate can move around too and both are sensitive to the environment (e.g. hot & humid vs cool & dry).

I’m curious if targeting increasing heart rate is a common fitness goal.

This is one of @Coach.Mac.C’s favorite topics, and has taken a lot of time to write in depth about Heart Rate Training.

Everything You Should Know About Heart Rate Training

The Ultimate Guide for Tracking Your Cycling Heart Rate

The Simple Guide to Heart Rate Training

I am also a little confused by the question, as Lactate Threshold Heart Rate does not vary tremendously all things the same (i.e. temperature, humidity, caffeine, how rested or fatigued one is, etc. And even trying to control for all of the variables that effect HR is virtually impossible). And yes, it is true that your LTHR could theoretically increase with fitness, this is not always the case, nor a metric that I would chase after.

Perhaps a better goal would be to increase your Functional Threshold Power, i.e. how many watts you can maintain for 30 - 60 minutes.

In regard to Heart Rate, I would use it as a guide to inform ‘how hot’ you are cooking your FTP effort. Certainly if your heart rate grossly exceeds your LTHR, then it will be impossible to sustain that effort for 30 - 60 mins.