Training Level Question following Half Monty

I have been doing Sufferfest since 2013. and have a really good idea on my RPE.

This summer was tough and my fitness level suffered a bit. I did a half monty and my FTP reduced. This was expected. So I started the 12 week training plan expecting that even at the new FTP level the workouts would be challenging. I am finding that they are a bit easier than I expected. My HR is always below the apps target range and I rate my workouts 5/10.

Considering that my fitness level went down, and my FTP went down, should the workouts, even at this reduced level still be difficult and where should my HR be?

My plan is to just do this FTP unitl the next half monty, but I would prefer to more swiftly increase my fitness. Any thoughts on how to train after a break when FTP reduces?

Thereā€™s been a lot of discussion on what to do and even a Knowledge Podcast on ā€œWhat do I do if I havenā€™t been training for a while due to ā€˜Xā€™ā€. The bottom line is that each situation is individual, even if youā€™ve been sick/injured before. I recommend a consult with a coach to see if this can be addressed.

1 Like

Thanks James

I looked for articles/reading.

I guess my question is about how the system is projecting HR zones based on my Half-Monty. Specifically, my HR is not hitting the zones the app is recommending.

So, should I retake Half-monty, or just keep going at this effort?

I would love an article. I am old and prefer to read something in 8-10 minutes than listen to a podcast.

1 Like

Most of the podcasts have a transcript you can read, although they are automatically transcribed and contain some weird errors.