What kind of fan do you use?

I’ve been using two fairly pedestrian fans for the last several years and I’m quite excited to invest in a high-powered fan for maximum cooling and space savings. I’m looking at buying a Lasko Pro Performance fan like this one: https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B077BMBR5B

Before I pull the trigger, what other Sufferlandrian-quality fans do people here use for cooling off during indoor training sessions?

PS: I’d really, really love a Wahoo Headwind, but it’s a little too pricey for my taste.

4 Likes

I use a bog standard 3 speed 20" box fan. The key is to get is a close to your body as possible. Put it on a box or stand in front of you as high is it will go without blocking your view of the screen. This setup works really well for me.

5 Likes

I also use a regular fan and it works well.

I’ve heard the Wahoo Headwind wrks really well, but I guess you don’t miss what you haven’t tried. Is it really worth the money?

1 Like

I have a tower fan that puts out 300 cfm, and a smaller circular desktop fan that puts out 350 cfm. I use the tower fan on a table for my body and the smaller one pivots in the vertical axis so I point that one right at my lava hot face.

I read that when you ride outdoors you get about an order of magnitude more airflow than from household fans. My sopping wet kit is testament to not having enough air.

The link below estimates you’d need roughly 7500 cfm to replicate outdoors.

https://zwiftinsider.com/how-much-fan/

4 Likes

I use the Lasko fan (used to be Stanley). It’s powerful and fairly quiet. No, it doesn’t adjust to your speed or HR, but for the price it’s a good fan. The only real negative is that it’s directed to a fairly narrow range. You can adjust it to go lower and higher and obviously move the fan to be based anywhere you want, but once it’s set it’s not moving.

4 Likes

I don’t use a fan. Maybe I should try it just to see what kind of difference it really makes.