Any tips for an obese beginner?

I am a total beginner to cycling and well, I’m obese (222 lb, 5’9.5", >30% body fat). I just got my gear set up (Wahoo Kickr snap and my trusty Marin Fairfax 1 I recently got for commuting) and have a cadence sensor on the way. Any training plan recommendations? I’m pretty lost.

2 Likes

Hey egnomic…Welcome to Sufferlandria and all things suffering! Sounds like you’re on the right track so far. I’d suggest investing in a heart rate monitor as well. I personally use a wahoo tickr.
When I started I made the mistake of not doing the full frontal prep plan (mostly because I was so gung-ho to get training and wasn’t even aware it was available until seeing fellow sufferlandrians reference it. ) then do your Full Frontal.
Since you are using a smart trainer try to match the cadence targets and let the kickr provide the proper resistance for power targets.
Once you do the FF (full frontal) then the worlds you suffering oyster…maybe the fitness Kickstarter.
I’m 8 weeks into my all purpose road plan and have become an absolute believer and get grumpy if I don’t get my proper dose of suffering weekly.

Also there’s boat loads of info and support in this forum as well…

Welcome once again

2 Likes

I’m new to SUF but not to cycling. Don’t go crazy. Just get on your trainer and ride. Ride for 30 minutes every other day or whatever your schedule permits. But try to get into a routine you can maintain. The first week or two will be the hardest. Most people go all in, and find the hardest program, and within a week they burn out (too hard, too sore, too out of breath, too something). Ease into the joy of cycling and the strength, speed, and fitness will come. Enjoy!

10 Likes

Welcome @egnomic!