Help! Super noob trying to get started

I’m a mountain biker who is venturing into the indoor training world for the first time. But the learning curve is SO HUGE! I feel like everything I read is in Greek. (It would also be helpful to mention that I’m also new to power meters, cadence, FTP and pretty much every other word I’ve read as I try to learn about this new adventure…) Anyway. I’ve got me a sparkly new Wahoo Kickr smart trainer, got the mtb hooked on, and am now perplexed about WHAT THE HECK I do next. I don’t even know what I don’t know. I’m signing up for Sufferfest (because I think that makes a logical next step?), and then… what? I’m looking for a Dummy’s Guide to getting started on a smart trainer. Can anyone point me to resources on getting started? Or can anybody out there dumb-down my next steps for me?

2 Likes

Hi Jen and welcome to Sufferlandria. The best thing now is the email theminions@thesufferfest.com and I know that @Lauren_TeamDPF and @Rebecca_TeamDPF will have you rocking the app in no time … do you have a bucket yet!? :upside_down_face:

2 Likes

Hi and welcome.

I would suggest to read the manual for the Kickr first. There’s probably an app for it with which you can calibrate it (so that the power readings are accurate) and update the firmware.

If you don’t have one I would also suggest to get a heart rate monitor that can link to the device you are running sufferfest on. An HRM that can transmit data via Bluetooth will be the easiest for this.

Then here is a link to the guide to get started with Sufferfest: A Guide to The Sufferfest – Sufferfest Support

Oh and: congrats on even getting the Kickr. Over where I live there have been severe shortages for months now.

3 Likes

Welcome @jenn !

There’s another link to some introductory information on the Sufferfest page here: Get Started with The Sufferfest

2 Likes