At what age you lose fitness

I am 37 now. I’ve been using Suf for around 3 or 4 years now (can’t remember) and I get better results of my tests almost Every time.

If I continue to train as I have been doing, at what age should I stop seen improvements and start to decrease my performance?

I thought I was old now, and I was not going to improve anymore. But gains come non stop… So…

3 Likes

Well I think it is different for everyone. I am 67 and over the last few years my “fitness” level decreases a bit each year as expected. However my level of total fitness I feel is better as I continue to adjust mentally what to expect from my body.

13 Likes

Great reply. Thanx a lot.
May I ask at what age you stopped getting improvements?
I hope I can get to 67 as fit as you are. The pics you post in facebook are awesome

1 Like

Check out this: “Aging in Sport” - Breakfast with Boz Podcast

4 Likes

For me, the big thing that I’ve noticed changing is my ability to recover. It seems like at every decade (30, 40, and now 50) (I’m 51) I notice a step-change in how long it takes me to recover from hard workouts and races.

On the bike, I don’t think I’ve yet hit a maximum fitness, but I’m sure that maximum potential number has been declining for a few years now. I’m not too worried about that, it’s more about making the most of what I have, and trying to enjoy what I’m doing.

For running, I suspect the pace I was able to run at 40 (when I set a half-marathon PR) are no longer attainable.

4 Likes