Comprehension question about Basic Training

Hey all - I’m new to cycling.
I have a question, I wanted to start for the first month with the basic training GA1 (<70%/HR) - in my case max. 140bpm.

But now there are days (mostly weekends) where I can pedal at around 140bpm for an hour at 150W /90cadence and then there are days when it was physically exhausting at work, then I have at 140bpm only 125/130W.

What does that mean for the GA1 training - should I now settle on 140bpm, no matter how many watts I can manage, or on 150W which I can manage when I am rested?
And training only on non-working days is not an option :wink:

Blockquote But now there are days (mostly weekends) where I can pedal at around 140bpm for an hour at 150W /90cadence and then there are days when it was physically exhausting at work, then I have at 140bpm only 125/130W.

You should adjust your efforts based on what happened during the day, if the plan calls for you working in a specific heart or power range. In this case, you placed an extraordinary amount of physical stress on your body and it is saying ‘enough already’. On those days, you might want to consider doing a recovery level ride instead and let it go.

As to ‘not being about to ride on non-working days is not an option’ you really need to be as close to the plan as possible to reap the gains. However, if you need to skip a training day, don’t try to ‘make it up’ as you may experience deep Suffering. That is never desired and might prove detrimental.

Bottom line is listen very closely to your body and if you can sneak out to do a short bit of training, do it. Your body will thank you.

Is training first thing in the morning a possibility? I am not a fan of waking up early but that works quite well for me.
Said that, if you don’t get along with riding after eating something up, a good dinner makes the treat as long as the workout isn’t too hard. In that case, fueling while riding is a good option.

1 Like