Kuala Lumpur Criterium 2022

I just signed up for a criterium race which is scheduled for 2nd October. Anyone here has any experience in criterium races?

1 Like

Hey Darren,

I’ve done a fair few crits at various different levels. What would you like to know?

1 Like

Good morning @Coach.Andy.T from Malaysia!

As far as I understand crit races are pretty fast paced races is that right?
I saw in the schedule of events for the day, for the category which I have signed up for, the duration of the race is 30 minutes + 3 laps. Would that mean that the race will be held for a maximum of 30 minutes and it ends with 3 sprint laps?

As I have no experience in this kind of race events, what should I be looking out for and precautions to take?

Hope to hear your inputs Coach!

1 Like

Hey Darren,

Yes crits are quite fast paced and sometimes a bit technical. With those guidelines the race will go for 30 minutes, then after that point there will be 3 laps until the finish and the sprint for the line.

In crits it is important to try and stay up towards the front of the race, this means that when the bunch goes round corners, you will get less of the elastic effect, where riders at the back have to slow down more than riders at the front. I would also expect HR to be high from the start, as the races often start very fast. The power will vary with surges and lulls in pace, but often such short rests that HR remans quite elevated.

For before the race it can often be very helpful to have caffeine, as well as mouth rinsing with a carb drink, so swilling it in your mouth like mouthwash. Also have a good carbo meal 3ish hours before the race to ensure you’ve topped up the muscle glycogen stores.

Hope that helps!

Awesome input Coach!

I guess my intuition was right about the “30 minute and 3 laps” thing and thank you for confirming it. Each lap will be about 2.2km from what I saw and read on the route map for the crit race.