Mountain Biking - AC/NM Building Block - and Strength Plan

Hey all - I’m a beginner/intermediate mountain bike rider who rides road as an alternative. Completed a good base program this spring, followed by a MAP block (my weakness), and I’m now into a AC/NM Building Block plan (I love the building blocks - thank you Sufferfest!).

My plan has been to gradually tailor my training away from endurance (my 6 hour summer race was cancelled) to strength and skill improvement. From a planning perspective, I think the MAP and AC/NM blocks will augment skills training very well, with the inclusion of strength (separate plan) and yoga (included in the AC/NM block).

One note (question?) is that I think adding the strength training over the AC/NM block can lead to a bit more stress than desired on the legs. While I haven’t skipped an (intermediate) strength session yet, I have shifted the day, and I’m giving myself permission to skip one based on how I am feeling and the training load immediately before and after that day.

Kind of curious if any other Mountain Bikers are also stoked to use the AC/NM (and MAP) blocks, like I am? One thing I haven’t yet figured out is how to get more time on the trail while doing these blocks… I’ve been resting my back the last few weeks. But ideally, I should be doing more trail rides and fewer sessions. Will have to figure that out for my next block.

1 Like

I’m a mountain biker when I’m outside but NM, AC & MAP are my relative strengths so I’m actually tempted by the base and tempo blocks as I know that’s where my weakness lies (my FTP prefers the couch to actually turning up most of the time). If you want to mix in strength and outside rides then, curious, why not look at one of the MTB plans?

2 Likes

MTBer here too (though been off for 5 months what with this virus).
I don’t use the blocks as I’ve been messing with my own versions. But I do explicitly focus on MAP at the start of every week.