Return to SYSTM and poor 4DP Results

Morning all.

I’ve returned to Systm after a chunk of time away racing on Zwift etc.

I’ve returned as I need to get my hard days hard and my easy days easy! Always found the videos and music motivate me on Sufferfest/ Systm.

Anyway, just did my 4DP which i found harder than usual and I’m a bit bummed with the results. my FTP & 1 minute power has decreased significantly, and I was genuinely giving it everything.

Anyone else experienced big trends down coming back after racing etc? If so, how did you find your first few Systm training sessions with lower numbers? Maybe just a bad day/ test for me?

Also, should I maybe retest sooner than usual?

Cheers,

Olly

1 Like

I’m no expert, there are plenty of people here who can give science-based advice, but from my POV, I wouldn’t take it too hard. It’s possible that your training/race simply wasn’t keeping you particularly sharp in FTP (I mean, how often is a Zwift race at 20-30+ minutes of full-gas?). Yes, the AC at -13% is a big drop compared to previously, but that effort is so short in the 4DP that it’s easy to flub it if you weren’t prepped/geared properly.

If it were me I would probably do something like this:

1. feel f***ing AWESOME about the results I achieved in NM and MAP!
  2. sulk for a day or two about FTP and AC
  3. adjust my targets to somewhere between what I tested and what my previous numbers were
  4. do a 3-4 week training block focused on the area I’m more concerned about (AC/FTP)
  5. retest after that block (or even just adjust the numbers a little upward because I hate testing)

I hope you’re at least doing no.1!

5 Likes

Yeh you’re right… easy to focus on the negatives rather than positives.