TRI 'er needs bike help

I’m new to TheSufferfest and “smart” bike training. I have completed about 7 Sprint Triathlons over the past 3-4 years and my Mt. Sufferlandria is for Olympic Tri next spring, with hopefully Half Ironman next fall. My training in the past swam 2days/week, stationary bike with intervals 2 days a week with longer outside group rides on weekends, treadmill drills 2x/week with long slow (even my fast runs are slow!) weekend runs, and strength training 1 day/week.
2020 has blown all this up. I was unable to train due to illness for 4 months. Now Covid has wrecked my routine. I have higher risk factors for Covid so I don’t go to the pool, no group rides on the weekends. Since the Triathlon Plans of course have a lot of swimming which I cannot do for now, I signed up for All-Purpose Road. My biking has always sucked as my weakest event, so I thought if I used the ALL PURPOSE ROAD plan I could train this hard, and just add in my running on the “rest” days. Well I typically run 2-3 days a week. Should I do that on my “rest” /spin days or is it better to run on the harder days so I get true rest days. Now I’m wondering if I should switch to the Tri Plan and just leave off the swim? I read on one of these threads about doing that and just rescheduling all the swims for 100 years from now!?
Any guidance?

3 Likes

Hello Daniel (@doublejack). Welcome to the forum!

I’m sorry to hear that your plans are not working out as expected so far. We will find something fitting for you, for sure.

Please read through this thread to get an idea of some of the solutions for a duathlon plan that other user already came up with, me included. In the second post I explain my use of the triathlon plan for a very similar scenario. Maybe this is even the topic you were talking about.