Weekend outdoor workout order

I am doing an indoor/outdoor plan and the weekend/outdoor workouts usually consist of 1 “interval” type workout and one long endurance+ workout. Sometime the endurance rides are on Saturday and other weeks on Sunday. I know the order of the midweek workouts is critical to fitness gains, but can i switch the order of the weekend workout without reducing the fitness benefits? Mostly I just want to line up good weather for interval type workouts.

1 Like

Totally unofficial answer but yes you can. I mostly say that because that’s what I do! Maybe it depends very slightly on what you do on the Friday but I think there’s more than enough “margin of error” in the non-custom plans to allow for sensible tweaking to make them work for the weather etc.

2 Likes

I have a question that is similar enough to the OP that I thought I would post it here. I’m new to Sufferfest and just started the 100m Gravel Grinder Training Plan. The schedule has a long ride on a Friday which I can’t really do given my conventional M-F/9-5 work schedule and then an indoor workout or shorter outdoor ride on Saturday and then a mix on Sundays, sometimes it is a rest day which again, doesn’t mesh with my work schedule.

Did I miss a setting when I set up the plan originally? Something that would have resulted in a more conventional set up, long ride on the weekend, rest day on Monday or other weekday? Alternatively, what is the best approach to swapping out the endurance day for Saturday or Sunday?

Thanks in advance for any insight.

• John
1 Like

Hey @JohnW
Welcome to SUF! It sounds like you started your plan on a Sunday.
No worries on swapping weekend rides. Good advice from @JamesT
in the above comments. Let us know if you have any other questions.

2 Likes