4DP on a double lung transplant

I’m new here. I had a double lung transplant last year. It’s a joy to suffer again with lungs that work. Thank you. I just completed the Full Monty, and gave it my all but the results say that they’re not confident in the results of my 5 min test because they’re too close to my 20 minute test, I think. But I promise I was at my limit for the 5 minute test because I nearly puked at the 2:30 mark. I am wondering if anyone knows anything or has any experience about transplanted lungs perform and respond to this kind of intensity. I’m thinking that my body was so weak and deprived of oxygen for so long that the processes for getting oxygen into the muscles need to be rebuilt and that is why I have virtually no MAP power. But I’m not a scientist.

15 Likes

No, you’re a @#$% science miracle. Kudos to you and welcome!

0f76a56cd1de4344a097dcd2331b1727

8 Likes

@David_Terry You note that you completed the Full Monty but did you mean to say that you completed the Half Monty or the Full Frontal? If it was the Full Frontal your experience isn’t that much different than the rest of us - especially the 1st time doing the test. It is a very difficult test and take a few times to really dial in. Best of luck to you - keep us posted!

1 Like

Thank you. I am truly so happy to be here. It is a freaking miracle that I can once again enjoy the suffering of cycling. It is a privilege.

9 Likes

My mistake! Yes, I did the Full Frontal this morning. It makes me feel better that my experience is not an anomaly. Thank you for the support.

5 Likes

The fact that you are not only a survivor, but you’re also now doing The Sufferfest and Full Frontal to boot?

You are an absolute legend.

I second @CPT_A and doff my cap to you, sir.

8 Likes

@David_Terry my first two FF results were like yours, suggesting an anomaly between some of the data. I have now done 5 tests and seem to have figured it out. Wanting to vomit is normal! Huge kudos to you.

2 Likes