Adding time to ride outside

Hey all,

I am sure folks with more experience will be able to offer me some insight.

a bit of background…I am 53 (soon 54) I have pretty good experience being athletic my whole life. I have been riding for the past 3 years all outside. I was unable to be consistent with weekly hours and even missing weeks/months. I would ramp up and get a few solid weeks then be burnt and not have the motivation to ramp up again. My best weeks I could put in 80-100 miles, never as consistently as I would have hoped and then too burnt to build off that. (all this using HR, cadence, speed, Wahoo bolt).

So looking to change things up, maybe attack this from a different angle, I recently upgraded my bike and shortly after bought a Kickr. Now i seem to be getting consistency down, ive recently completed the SYSTM intro, FF Prep, HM and FF, now i’m kicking off a series of building blocks…Threshold, AC/NM, MAP (all at a 2:1 ratio).

I love that now i am able to do structured training with data. training plans are such a great resource because they really structure the weeks so that you can get the hard efforts mixed with easy efforts, this should really help keep me from burning out. I am confident i am making improvements based simply on increased time on the bike and i know i am putting in solid work and solid recovery.

My question then is what is the best way to leverage the training plans and still get 2 or 3 days outside. I plan on a single side power meter in the near future so I am sure that will go a long way. Also the recent update should let me take individual workouts on the road. But in the mean time without a power meter on board what suggestions do you have for me?

Edit: I also have to be honest with myself that training every time i get in the saddle will probably burn me out as well. I still really love just free riding, playing with traffic, and farting along on country roads. It cant always be work work work.

1 Like