FF First Timer

As you may have guessed from the title… I’m pretty new to The Sufferfest (and road bikes, and indoor training, and triathlon…) having joined the communal pain in December. I’ve completed the little intro plan and am nearing the end of the 6 week kickstarter, which does of course finish with a FF. As such, I’ve only completed two HM’s so far and was hoping to get some tips for a veritable first timer :pray:

I’ve read the guide on the website and certainly found some good stuff in there, just wondering if there are any other pearls of wisdom for an apprehensive newby who is keen to progress (and to heighten the ToS suffering… which was a good thing to sign up for with no experience… right… :joy:).

If relevant, I’m on a Kickr Snap!?!?

Welcome @Yiyan! Have you seen these articles in our help center?

1 Like

Think of it as just another workout. There is no need to feel apprehensive. The results will be the results.

Depending on your cycling experience it may take several repetitions before you figure out how to pace it.

2 Likes

agreed with all this. feel free to get jacked up for it but don’t psyche yourself out.

One thing that can help is to try to negative split the 5 min and the 20 min (that means getting faster as you go through the test interval). In an ideal world, you’d pick a power that you could maintain where you completely fatigued in the last second of each test, but in practice that’s not really possible.

what i do early in the season when i’m not really sure where my fitness is, is i start out at a pace i think i can maintain for five minutes, but i err on the side of conservatism rather than aggressiveness, then i try to increase it each minute (or every 4 or 5 minutes during the 20 min test).

If you’re successful, then next time you have a better idea of how hard you can go, and you can get closer to that perfect pacing. Alternatively if you are too aggressive and you blow up halfway through, your result is less valid.