Kicking the season off

I am new to SYSTM. Been using Trainer Road for the past 15 months and I am trying to figure out the optimal training program/s to get the most out of a base, tempo, build etc structure similar to the formal structure that TR lays it out. I get these 2 programs are different and I want to try SYSTM. The fundamentals of starting the season are the same but i am struggling to figure it out with SYSTM and may revert back to TR if I can’t. Please can you offer advice on how specifically to start the season with SYSTM training programs referencing specific programs that follow the logical base through specialty training sequence prior to a 12 week race plan.

Thank you.

@adamoud Welcome to the forum. Check out this article on why you don’t need winter base miles:

Why You Don’t Need Winter Base Miles

SYSTM does have building block plans which I use from time to time when I want to concentrate on a specific area but otherwise I generally chose an off-season plan during the off-season and an in-season plan during the racing season and that has worked well for me. Right now I am doing the marathon MTB program with strength and yoga. I may use a building block plan after my plan finishes - probably whatever area I think could use the most improvement but you can also create a training plan by just using the building block plans. Below is a link to a tutorial on how to use those plans:

How to Use the Building Block Plans

Two other things to consider during the offseason: (1) lifting - even if it means reducing your time on the bike and (2) regular yoga and breathing exercises. There was recently a podcast back in October on lifting that you might find interesting:

Podcast: Adding Strength Training to Your Endurance Plan

Finally you may also want to check out the mental toughness program - it it unique to SYSTM and I have found it to be very beneficial.

Hope that helps!

2 Likes