Help, please: 4DP Test Glitch/Wrong Settings?

Hello, friends.

I am a newb to Systm, but have been using Wahoo Kickr and other products for a few years on the road an in conjunction with Zwift.

I think this is the proper place since I am not sure it requires technical help as much as an understanding of what I might have done wrong or failed to set correctly.

I completed my first 4DP test today, using a Kickr (2020 year model), Kickr Climb, Wahoo cadence pod on my shoe and TickrX for HR. I also used my Element head unit to record the activity. Downloaded the workout in advance and ran it on my iPad, which I have been doing all week for the preparation workouts leading up to the test today.

I set the System device settings to Level (Level ) precisely) so I know I had that correct. I also used the power smoothing setting as my pedal stroke is horrifically uneven do to a lower back issue.

The test seemed to be going smoothly until it got to the 20 minute FTP section. At the outset, the power kept normalizing itself at 100+/- watts, regardless of my cadence and gear selection, as if it was in ERG mode. Then, at random intervals, the Kickr resistance would shoot up and the power output would spike, forcing me to change gears to keep up my cadence, until the false ā€œERGā€ function kicked back in and governed me to 100W.

This kept on through the whole 20 minutes, which seemed strange to me as I have done the FTP tests in Zwift multiple times on the same setup and it did not act like this. I kept going just in case and then the same thing happened with the 1 minute test. I just gave up when the 1-minute section governed me again around 100 W and I let the Kickr just spin down.